Other

If You Liked ‘Crossed by Ally Condie’ You Will Like These

Hello, everyone~ How are you?
Today, we are going through several (5 specifically) novels that I feel like have similar themes, characters, writing styles or genres as the novel ‘Matched’ by Ally Condie. However, most of these novels I have either read, or they are on my TBR list, so these are not from direct experience, moreso from just what I have gathered on the search for new novels.
Lately, I have been on a hiatus from reading, and I just haven’t been able to find a good book.
So, this honestly really helped me get back into the mood for reading, and I’m looking forward to having some more money so I can purchase a shiny new novel for my collection!
Now, read on~

Matched by Ally Condie

Matched (Matched, #1)

Publisher: Dutton Books for Young Readers

Date: November 30th 2010

Pages: 369

Genre: YA; Science Fiction > Dystopia; Romance

Rating: 3.67 / 5

Synopsis:

In the Society, officials decide. Who you love. Where you work. When you die.

Cassia has always trusted their choices. It’s hardly any price to pay for a long life, the perfect job, the ideal mate. So when her best friend appears on the Matching screen, Cassia knows with complete certainty that he is the one…until she sees another face flash for an instant before the screen fades to black. Now Cassia is faced with impossible choices: between Xander and Ky, between the only life she’s known and a path no one else has ever dared follow—between perfection and passion.

Matched is a story for right now and storytelling with the resonance of a classic.

Divergent (Divergent, #1)

Publisher: HarperCollins Children’s Books

Date: February 2nd 2012

Pages: 487

Genre: YA; Science Fiction > Dystopia; Fiction; Fantasy

Rating: 4.20 / 5

Synopsis:

THREE FLYING BIRDS…
ONE FOR EACH MEMBER OF THE FAMILY I LEFT BEHIND.


Sixteen-year-old Tris is forced to make a terrible choice. In a divided society where everyone must conform, Tris does not fit.

So she ventures out alone, determined to discover where she truly belongs. Shocked by her brutal new life Tris can trust no one. And yet she is drawn to a boy who seems to both threaten and protect her.

The hardest choice lies ahead.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 433.png
Legend (Legend, #1)

Publisher: Putman Juvenile

Date: November 29th 2011

Pages: 305

Genre: YA; Science Fiction > Dystopia; Science Fiction; Romance; Fantasy; Fiction; Adventure; Young Adult > Teen; Action; Apocalyptic > Post Apocalyptic

Rating: 4.18 / 5

Synopsis:

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 433.png
Delirium (Delirium, #1)

Publisher: HarperCollins

Date: February 7th 2012

Pages: 441

Genre: YA; Science Fiction > Dystopia; Romance

Rating: 3.98 / 5

Synopsis:

In an alternate United States, love has been declared a dangerous disease, and the government forces everyone who reaches eighteen to have a procedure called the Cure. Living with her aunt, uncle, and cousins in Portland, Maine, Lena Haloway is very much looking forward to being cured and living a safe, predictable life. She watched love destroy her mother and isn’t about to make the same mistake.

But with ninety-five days left until her treatment, Lena meets enigmatic Alex, a boy from the “Wilds” who lives under the government’s radar. What will happen if they do the unthinkable and fall in love? 

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 433.png
The Selection (The Selection, #1)

Publisher: HarperTeen

Date: April 24th 2012

Pages: 336

Genre: Ya; Romance; Science Fiction > Dystopia; Fantasy

Rating: 4.14 / 5

Synopsis:

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 433.png
Flawed (Flawed, #1)

Publisher: Feiwel and Friends

Date: April 5th 2016

Pages: 336

Genre: YA; Science Fiction > Dystopia

Rating: 4.11 / 5

Synopsis:

You will be punished…

Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan.

But then, Celestine encounters a situation where she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned… she could be branded… she could be found flawed.

In her breathtaking young adult debut, bestselling author Cecelia Ahern depicts a society where perfection is paramount and flaws lead to punishment. And where one young woman decides to take a stand that could cost her everything.

This image has an empty alt attribute; its file name is 43.png

Thank you all for reading, I actually had fun figuring out this formatting and I hope it looks a bit prettier compared to my usual formatting style.
If you found a new novel to read, comment it down below and tell me why you choose to read it! If that doesn’t work for you, feel free to go to my Instagram or my Twitter, which will be linked below.
See you in the next post x

Instagram:
@in_another_realm
Twitter:
@inanotherrealm1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *